LF System, Steps and Aitch break records on the UK chart.  Know which ones!

The British chart, both albums and singles, was marked by breaking some records. Starting with LF System’s “Afraid To Feel” (pictured above), which completed eight weeks at the top of the charts, and became the longest number one dance track this decade and also the overall record holder of 2022, after overcoming the seven weeks of “We Don’t Talk About Bruno”, from the “Encanto” soundtrack.

Right now, “Afraid To Feel” is tied with “Blinding Lights” by The Weeknd and “Easy On Me” by Adele. The overall record in the 1920s is Ed Sheeran’s “Bad Habits” at 11 weeks.

The other milestones came on the album chart. The Steps placed their newest compilation, “The Platinum Collection”, at No. In this way, they join a select club of artists who have had an LP at No.

The quartet also joins ABBA as the only groups with both men and women in formation to achieve such a feat. The overall record here is the Rolling Stones who reached the top in several different decades.

Lastly, rapper AITCH heralds what could be a new era in the industry. “Close To Home” peaked at No. 2 and is the first chart-topping album to make use of NFT technology to boost its sales.

Those who buy the disc in physical format can choose an exclusive artwork in NFT to download.

The album chart also had seven other top 40 debuts, or re-debuts, including five in the top 10: “Finally Enough Love”, Madonna’s new compilation, in third place, “Viva Las Vengeance” by Panic! At The Disco in fifth and Demi Lovato’s “Holy FVck” in seventh. “Be Here Now”, Oasis’ third album, returned to the rankings at number six in the week it celebrated its 25th anniversary.

Further down were Hot Chip’s “Freakout/Release” (16th), Five Finger Death Punch’s “Afterlife” (19th) and the soundtrack to “Fisherman’s Friends: One and All” at 39th.

The top 10 was this:

1 – “Platinum Collection” – Steps (debut)
2 – “Close To Home” – Aitch (debut)
3 – “Finally Enough Love” – ​​Madonna (debut)
4 – “Harry’s House” – Harry Styles (dropped two positions)
5 – “Viva Las Vengeance” – Panic! At The Disco (debut)
6 – “Be Here Now” – Oasis (return to ranking)
7 – “Holy Fvck” – Demi Lovato (debut)
8 – “Renaissance” – Beyoncé (dropped five spots)
9 – “=” – Ed Sheeran (dropped four places)
10 – “The Highlights” – The Weeknd (dropped four places)

The Singles Ranking:

The singles chart had only two new additions: Aitch’s “My G (With Ed Sheeran)” at #6 and Blackpink’s “Pink Venom” at #22. Finally, Fred Again’s “Turn On The Lights Again.. (with Swedish House Mafia feat. Future)” rose from #47 to #40.

1 – “Afraid To Feel” – LF System (same position)
2 – “BOTA (Baddest Of Them All)” – Eliza Rose (same position)
3 – “Green Green Grass” – George Ezra (up one position)
4 – “BREAK MY SOUL” – Beyoncé (dropped one position)
5 – “I Ain’t Worried” – One Republic (up one position)
6 – “My G (With Ed Sheeran)” – Aitch (debut)
7 – “Crazy What Love Can Do (with Becky Hill & Ella Henderson)” – David Gueta (dropped two positions)
8 – “Doja” – Central Cee (dropped one position)
9 – “Ferrari (feat. Miggy Dela Rosa)” – Ferrari (same position)
10 – “Super Freaky Girl” – Nicky Minaj (up five spots)

Recommended Posts