Watch the trailer for the BONUS episode of 'Sandman' that Netflix released today by surprise

Netflix released today in its catalog the BONUS episode of ‘sandman‘, which is divided into two parts.

The episode is called “Dream of a Thousand Cats / Calliope” and is largely done in animation.

Watch the trailer and follow the CinePOP on YouTube:

The content is divided into two parts: an animation of ‘Dream of a Thousand Cats‘, based on the edit #18 from the comic, and a live-action adaptation of ‘calliope‘, from editing #17.

Enjoy watching:

Dream of a Thousand Cats‘ is driven by Hisko Hulsingwho is known for his work on the lauded series ‘undone‘.

‘calyope‘ was in charge of Louise Hooperwho directed the final episode of the adaptation, titled ‘lost hearts‘, and has also worked on ‘The Witcher‘.

Both episodes feature the series’ protagonist, Tom Sturridge, like Morpheus.

The guest voice cast for ‘Dream of a Thousand Cats‘ includes Sandra Oh like The Prophet, Rosie Day like Spotted Kitty, David Gyasi like the Gray Cat, Joe Lycett like the Black Cat and Neil Gaiman like the crow.

“We strive to make the animated version of ‘A Dream of a Thousand Cats‘ as mesmerizing and hypnotic as possible, utilizing the magic of real oil paintings on canvas,” says Hulsing in a press release. “We’ve combined the paintings with classically drawn 2D animation based on realistic 3D animation of telepathic cats to create a travel world that feels both realistic and dreamy. Untold Studios in London created the breathtaking 3D animation of cats. The wonderful 2D animation, oil paintings and stylization were done in Submarine Studios in Amsterdam.”

Already ‘calliope‘ tells the story of a muse, lived by Melissanthi Mahutwhich has a complicated history with Morpheus.

In addition to Mahutthe cast brings Arthur Darvill like Richard Madoc, Nina Wadia as Mother of Destiny, Souad Faress as Elder of Fate, Dinita Gohil like Maiden of Fate, Kevin Harvey like Larry, Amita Suman like Nora and Derek Jacobi like Erasmus Fry.

The cast still has Vivienne Acheapong (Lucienne), Boyd Holbrook (Corinthian), Charles Dance (Roderick Burgess), Asim Chaudhry (Abel), Sanjeev Bhaskar (Cain), Kirby Howell-Baptiste (Death), Mason Alexander Park (Desire), Donna Preston (Despair), Jenna Coleman (Johanna Constantine), Niamh Walsh (Ethel Cripps) and Joely Richardson (Ethel).

Allan Heinberg (‘Wonder Woman’) is the showrunner of the series.

DC’s Vertigo comic book imprint originally published the series between 1989 and 1996, with several additional series arriving in 2009 and between 2013 and 2015.

Don’t forget to watch:

Recommended Posts